What Is A CFA Course?

CFA or Chartered Financial Analyst is a credential that is offered as a part of the CFA program. Apart from being a program which is recognized globally, CFA provides its holders with a strong foundation of skills in investment analysis, portfolio management as well as the practical knowledge that a candidate would require in the present day investment industry.

Being a CFA holder makes you a part of this worldwide network of professionals who believe in following professional and ethical standards of the highest degree. Clearing all three levels of this examination doesn’t just land you the certificate, but it is also a testament to your professional qualities.

There are a number of eligibility criteria, for all of those who wish to give this examination. The criteria are as follows;

  • An applicant applying for this exam must have a bachelor’s degree or a degree equivalent to that of the bachelor’s.
  • If a candidate doesn’t hold the bachelor’s degree, the candidate must be in the final year of their degree at the time of the registration.
  • Have at least four years of qualified professional work experience.
  • Have a combined experience both in terms of college activities or work, the total of which would be four years. Any summer, part-time or internships positions do not make the candidate qualified enough to apply for the exam.

Moving ahead, let’s discuss what exactly the syllabus for this exam includes, if we were to put it all in a nutshell, it would be;

  • Investment tools
  • Ethical and Professional Standards
  • Economics
  • Portfolio Management
  • Equity
  • Fixed Income
  • Derivatives
  • Alternative Investment

Now once you commence your journey of becoming a CFA holder, you could take two paths. You could either attempt to crack the exam on your own through self-study or you could opt for cracking the exam with the help of an institute. India has some of the most renowned institutes which offer comprehensive courses in CFA certifications like Imarticus Learning, which you could opt out for.

The general course of study involves candidates having to study the Candidate Body of Language, the curriculum content, learning outcome standards and the topic area weights.

This course includes three varying levels of examination which a candidate is supposed to clear in order to become a Charter holder. This is how the three levels are divided;

  1. Level 1: This level is usually focused on a basic knowledge of the ten topic areas that are provided as the syllabus as well as a very simple analysis done using the investment tools.
  2. Level 2: This level lays a major emphasis on the application of investment tools as well as the concepts with more of a focus on the valuation of all types of assets.
  3. Level 3: The last level usually is supposed to focus on the synthesis of all the concepts and the analytical methods which are used in various applications for an efficient portfolio management and wealth planning.

Once you pass this examination, the doors of global opportunity open up for you by providing you with an access to a global network of qualified professionals and lucrative job prospects.

Share This Post

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Get updates and learn from the best

More To Explore

Our Programs

Do You Want To Boost Your Career?

drop us a message and keep in touch